School Board 2019 – 2020

The Board of the DSK is responsible for directing the business affairs of the school according to the School Association’s Constitution, and for fulfilling its fiduciary, advisory and oversight duties.

There are up to ten voting members on the Board. Nine of whom are elected at the AGM of the School Association in a two-year cycle, with the tenth member being appointed by the Lutheran Church. The Board may co-opt up to four additional non-voting members at any time. In addition, a member of the German Consulate takes part in Board meetings as a non-voting member.

The Board enjoys a close working relationship with school management and school administration, with the Headmaster, the Deputy Head, as well as the Bursar, being part of Board meetings.

There are monthly Board meetings throughout the term, as well as other extra meetings as needed. There are four elected offices within the Board; Chair, Deputy Chair, Secretary and Treasurer and four standing committees; Finance, Personnel, Building Works and Marketing. In addition to these committees, board members are responsible for their own designated portfolios/committees, supporting a specific field of the School.

In 2020/2021, the Board office, portfolio and committee responsibilities are as follows;

Elected Offices

Chairperson: Mirabel Bausinger
Vice-chair (Governance): Rainer Nowak
Vice-chair (Strategy): Angela Naumann
Secretary: Nita Holm
Treasurer: Isabell Anders

Standing Committees

Building Matters: Michael Bauer/ Fiona Gawiler
Communications & Marketing: Bulelwa Nombutuma/ Angela Naumann
Finance: Isabell Anders/ John Blake
Personnel: Rainer Nowak
Legal and risk management: Rainer Nowak

Additional portfolios 2020/2021

Primary school and Kindergarten: Nita Holm
Arts and Culture: Nita Holm
Steering Committee: Ntsekhe Moiloa
Transformation, Diversity and Inclusion: Ntsekhe Moiloa, Bulelwa Nombutuma
Social responsibility Environmental responsibility: Claudia Nolte-Schamm
ISASA/WDA/ZFA/AA: Mirabel Bausinger
Health & Safety: Michael Bauer
Sport: Angela Naumann
STEM and ICT: Angela Naumann, Ntsekhe Moiloa

The Board fosters an open dialogue with all stakeholders of the school and works with the portfolios in the Parent Representative Committee. Please do not hesitate to contact our Chair, Mirabel Bausinger at should you have any questions.