German International School Cape Town

School Board

The Board of the DSK is responsible for directing the business affairs of the school according to the School Association’s Constitution, and for fulfilling its fiduciary, advisory and oversight duties.

There are up to ten voting members on the Board. Nine of whom are elected at the AGM of the School Association in a two-year cycle, with the tenth member being appointed by the Lutheran Church. The Board may co-opt up to four additional non-voting members at any time. In addition, a member of the German Consulate takes part in Board meetings as a non-voting member.

The Board enjoys a close working relationship with school management and school administration, with the Headmaster, the Deputy Head, as well as the Bursar, being part of Board meetings.

There are monthly Board meetings throughout the term, as well as other extra meetings as needed. There are four elected offices within the Board: Chair, Deputy Chair, Secretary and Treasurer and four standing committees: Finance, Personnel, Building Works and Marketing. In addition to these committees, Board members are responsible for their own designated portfolios/committees, supporting a specific field of the school.

In 2022/2023, the Board office, portfolio and committee responsibilities are as follows:

Elected Offices

Chairperson: Rainer Nowak
Vice-chair: Angela Naumann
Vice-chair: Isabell Anders
Secretary: Richard Doyle
Treasurer: Isabell Anders, Rüdiger Naumann

Standing Committees

Communications & Marketing:  Angela Naumann, Bulelwa Nombutuma
Building Matters:  Michael Bauer
Personnel:  Rainer Nowak, Angela Naumann
Legal and risk management:  Rainer Nowak

Additional portfolios 2022/2023

Primary school and Kindergarten:  Ntsekhe Moiloa, Heike Gerntholtz
Arts and Culture:  Rüdiger Naumann, Rainer Nowak
Steering Committee:  Richard Doyle
Transformation, Diversity and Inclusion : Richard Doyle
ISASA / WDA / ZFA / AA: Rainer Nowak, Angela Naumann 
Health & Safety:  Michael Bauer
STEM and ICT:  Richard Doyle
Pastoral Guidance: Claudia Nolte-Schamm

The Board fosters an open dialogue with all stakeholders of the school and works with the portfolios in the Parent Representative Committee.